How to remove a profile from Microsoft Edge

Edge is a Chromium-based browser with similar functionality to Google Chrome; you can create multiple user profiles to organize and sync your data across your device. 

If you created some unnecessary user profiles on Edge, you can remove them from Settings.

However, you can only remove your active user profile. So, you must switch to a profile to delete it from Edge. 

What are user profiles on Edge?

User profiles are a way to organize your browsing data across different profiles. You can sync your data using different Microsoft accounts.

Different user profiles canhelp you to use multiple accounts of a website simultaneously. Browsing data from one profile is not available to other profiles.

How to remove a profile from Microsoft Edge

  1. Open Microsoft Edge on your computer. 
  2. Click on the icon from the top right corner and go to Settings. Go to Edge Settings
  3. Click on Profiles from the left sidebar if you are on another tab.
  4. Switch to the Profile you want to remove. If you are already on that profile, ignore this step.
  5. Click on the icon at the top right corner of the profile name. Remove Profile from Edge
  6. Select Remove from the menu.
  7. A pop-up will ask for your confirmation; select Remove Profile from the pop-up. Click on Remove Profile

Update Edge to the latest version

Many users reported that they can’t remove a profile when there’s only one user profile named Profile 1. It could be a browser version-related issue. I tested these steps on a recently updated Edge browser, and it worked.

You can remove any user profile as long as it’s your active profile. You can’t remove a profile without switching to it. 

Pressing the Switch buttons opens a new window with that user profile. Then you have to go to Settings from the menu and follow the steps mentioned above. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I remove any profile from Edge?

Yes, when you visit Profiles in Settings, you can see a list of all available profiles. Switch to the profile you want to remove and follow the process.

Can I use my Outlook account for a different profile?

You can sign in to your Outlook account on any profile to sync the data. You can also sign out from your Outlook account on any profile.

Do I need to sign out before removing a profile?

No, you don’t need to sign out of your account before removing a profile. You can remove the profile instantly without signing out.

Uchchash Talukder Rana is the founder of @ansmegeek. He is the jack of all trades and master of a few. He uses Windows, Mac, Android & iOS on a daily basis. If he is not sleeping, either he is writing articles or playing Valorant.

Spread the love

Leave a comment